Oklahoma City has a rich history filled with many amazing stories and places. One of the city’s most fascinating sites is Wheeler Ferris Wheel. It is located at 1701 S Western Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73109. This 125-foot wheel made from steel, concrete and paint opened in 1929 and remains one of the city’s top tourist attractions today. Situated in north OKC on the Oklahoma River, Wheeler Ferris Wheel stretches for about a block south of NW 33rd Street and one block north of NW 23rd Street. It can be seen from several points around town as well as from access roadways that run alongside it. For example, it is visible from State Highway 5 (SH-5). Another point to consider is that it also has parking available within its close vicinity.
The Wheeler Ferris Wheel is notable and popular with tourists, historians, and locals alike because of its grand size and location in Oklahoma City. It is also notable because of the many events that had taken place around it during its history. Its impressive height and location on the Oklahoma River made it a tempting attraction for many, and there were many who visited the wheel over the years. The Wheel also played a big role during the city’s tornado event in 1997. The ferris wheel was nearly destroyed by a tornado in 1997, but it was rebuilt and reopened in 1999. The Wheeler Ferris Wheel remains a popular tourist attraction to this day.
The Wheeler Ferris Wheel was built in Oklahoma City during the early 1920s. It was first constructed as a smaller attraction, but was later expanded. The Wheel was constructed from steel, concrete and paint, and it was designed by George S. Franklin and built by Ferris Wheel & Roller Co. The Wheel’s construction lasted from 1921 to 1927. At first, it only reached a height of 30 feet, but later, it was expanded to 125 feet. The Wheel remained in operation until October 31, 1933. The Wheel was closed because of low attendance numbers during this time. The Wheel was then demolished in 1934 and replaced by an outdoor Ferris Wheel that was of similar design. In 1977, the Oklahoma Wheel Corporation purchased the Ferris Wheel property and started the process of restoring the Wheel. The Wheel was finally reopened to the public on May 31, 1999.
The Oklahoma Wheel Corporation has created a visitors guide for the Wheel that provides information about the history of the building and the restoration process that put the Wheel back in operation. There are also several exhibits located on the Wheel’s observation deck that provide information about Oklahoma City’s history and transportation. The Wheel’s observation deck can be rented out for weddings, receptions and other events. The Wheel offers several different ride options that can be viewed from the observation deck, including a glass-bottomed boat ride, a chair ride and a dune buggy ride that takes passengers over the Oklahoma River. The Wheel offers visitors the opportunity to learn about the history of Oklahoma City while they enjoy a spectacular view of the city.